Send #Email like a Spy Not #Petraeus and #Broadwell

It’s well known that regardless of which online email you use [Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail etc] they spy on you. How else do you think you get all that targeted spam email after creating a new account.

Anyway, long story short, here are a few services that allow you to send messages or links and once the messages or links are read, they self destruct. Now I’ll tell you up front, I haven’t used any of these but hey, what do you have to loose. Some of these encrypt the data and store it encrypted until it’s deleted.

Via ComputerWorld

The way these work is that you type your message on a website, rather than sending email. The site will send email, not with the message, but with a link.

In some cases, the services will allow the recipients to read the message once, after which time it’s deleted. In others, you can set an expiration date.

The best of these are OneShar.es, Burn Note, Privnote, Destructing Message and This Message Will Self Destruct.

Note that the “Destructing Message” service has an interesting twist: It doesn’t identify the sender. Of course, you can identify yourself in the message, but you don’t have to. It’s both temporary and anonymous. Some email services, including Gmail, may block incoming mail from Destructing Message.

There’s a related type of service that’s useful when you want to keep a link private. You paste your link into the service, and set the “expiration date.” Then, the service creates a temporary link that leads to the real link.

Examples of this type of service include This Link Will Self Destruct or Dying Links.

Note that Dying Links is highly configurable, enabling you to specify a delayed activation, an expiration date and time, and even a maximum number of clicks before it expires. It also shortens URLs.

Sometimes you just want to show someone a picture, but you want to do it securely and privately. In that case, you might try SnapChat. SnapChat is an iOS and Android app that lets you send pictures from your phone to a list of recipients, who can view the picture only from within the SnapChat application, and only for a maximum of 10 seconds. The sender can even choose to set the time limit to less than 10 seconds. While the picture is displayed, the screen capture feature on the recipient’s phone is disabled.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply - Spam will be deleted

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s